» News

Marsh Cup

July 8, 2010 07:10 PM
Jason Tahir, Marcus Fugate, Marc Silva, Raphael Almeida--Men's Open Winners
Marsh Cup Winners--Rochester
Tennis Club of Rochester (TCR) hosts Marsh Cup
The Marsh Cup is an Institution in the Western Region. It has been taking place since the early 1900’s.
Marsh Cup is a yearly competition that features teams from Buffalo, Rochester, Syracuse, and Toronto.  This weekend-long celebration of tennis rotates among the cities, so that each plays host to the event once every four years.  (Pictured at right are the Men's Open players).
It was Rochester’s opportunity to host the event in 2010. Despite some on and off light showers and a threatening sky overhead that stuck around for most of the weekend, the matches were all played outdoors on the clay courts at Tennis Club of Rochester (TCR). 

Competition began on Saturday, June 12.  TCR legend Frank Okey, who first played in the Marsh Cup back in the 1950’s, officially opened the 2010 event. The team from Rochester beat Toronto, winning 14 of the 16 individual matches. Despite the lopsided final score, it was actually much closer, as Rochester won seven courts in very tight matches. Syracuse (captained by Wil Murtaugh) beat Buffalo (captained by Russ Reinagel) in the other semifinal by a score of 9-7. 
The Championship and Consolation matches took place on Sunday. Buffalo took home third place with a 10-7 win over Toronto. The Championship match featured touring pro Marcus Fugate (Rochester) against former touring pro Marc Silva (Syracuse). Fugate’s victory over Silva helped lead Rochester to a 12-5 win.
The Western Region is a proud sponsor of the Marsh Cup, and we congratulate the Championship team from Rochester, captained by Chris Hayes and Billy Nealon.  The 2011 competition is scheduled for June 10-12 in Buffalo.