» News

Mynderse Academy Coach Named to No-Cut All-Star Team

Mynderse Academy Coach Named to No-Cut All-Star Team

The United States Tennis Association (USTA) announced its 2014 No-Cut Coach All-Star Team, recognizing 14 exceptional high school coaches throughout the nation who implement a “no-cut” policy which welcomes all interested students to be a part of their school’s tennis team.

The No-Cut Coach All-Star Team was established in 2013 to recognize a select group of coaches nationwide for their special achievements in offering a “No-Cut Tennis” policy.  Coaches are nominated by their respective USTA Section.

“Throughout the year, these coaches play an integral role in the development of student-athletes and the success of No-Cut Tennis,” said Glenn Arrington, USTA National Manager, High School Tennis. “We applaud their efforts at encouraging players of all levels and allowing them to share in a rewarding team experience at their school.”

Since 2006, more than 4,000 tennis coaches nationwide have made a commitment to offering a no-cut policy, with some programs including more than 100 team members on a high school team.  The coaches of these teams serve as positive role models and make a difference by spending the extra time and effort to ensure that young players experience the fun and fulfillment of playing tennis and participating in a school sport.

To qualify for the USTA No-Cut All-Star Team, coaches must be currently implementing a no-cut policy on their tennis teams, be currently registered with the USTA as a “no-cut” coach, and have coached tennis for a minimum of five years. 

The 2014 No-Cut Coach All-Star Team includes:

  • Kirk Comer – Page County High School, Shenandoah, Va.
  • Tim Donnelly – Park City High School, Park City, Utah
  • Thomas Krueger – Lincoln High School, Sioux Falls, S.D.
  • A.G. Longoria – Sage Hill High School, Newport Beach, Calif.
  • Mike Marriam – Mynderse Academy, Seneca Falls, N.Y.
  • Laurie Martin – Xavier College Prep, Phoenix
  • Bernie McGuire – The Hammond School, Columbia, S.C.
  • Manuel Moreno – Dobie High School, Houston
  • Mark Noel – Oak Ridge High School, Orlando, Fla.
  • Laurie Olafson – Chimacum High School, Chimacum, Wash.
  • Mark Shahan – Antelope High School, Antelope, Calif.
  • JoAnne Stillmun – Jenkintown High School, Jenkintown, Pa.
  • Ben Tasich – Pinckney Community High School, Pinckney, Mich.
  • Rich Willis – Ellington High School, Ellington, Conn.


To register as a no-cut coach or to learn more about the program and free registration incentives, visit www.usta.com/no-cut.